Warming Up for Re-blogging

After an always indulgent and wonderful Christmas, I decided that it’s more beneficial to spend the rest of my semester break re-vamping and re-committing to the world of blog than re-watching every game of thrones episode (again) and try to decide on another show to watch. Parenthood and Hell on Wheels are top contenders, and I would like to finish freaks and geeks… but those just aren’t life choices that will benefit future-Sarah the most.

My first semester at school was glorious. It confirmed that I need to be in the nutrition/health promotion/fatness stopping field, and I’ve learned a lot (but looking forward to more) and met many wonderful people.

This is the first time I was a student after losing all the weight, and especially after slowly-weight-gaining-phase (which I can easily “blame” on the run-stopping foot injury and the big life change of deciding to leave a stable job to become a student again), I didn’t do a great job on focusing on my own healthiness and weight loss continuation/maintenance during this last semester. Learning how to prioritize new responsibilities and still eat smart and exercise was hard (I’m great at making excuses for myself), especially when all that school work and so many wonderful new social opportunities were thrown in! But I’m back in the saddle. I’m probably up 20 pounds from my all time maintainable low. It’s time to go back down (without sacrificing much of the blues music, football, and beer).

As I clean up the blog, update things as necessary, and start on new posts, I figured it would be nice to say hi and link to some old posts that really speak to the nature of why I loved blogging and what my goals of the blog are.

Brain Window on the Importance of Moderate Self-Elevation: Good head-stuff here, if I do say so myself!

Why I Was Vegan and Why Now I’m Not: Philosophies on food and simple eating

The Strength Part of the Gym is not Male Exclusive: encouraging badass lady gym-ing

On Binge Eating: Amazed with the response I got from this one–really showed how neat blogging can be.

On Balancing Work, Self, and Healthiness: Interesting to read with the new grad-school perspective!

On Not Running: In which I accept that injuries are not the be-all-end-all and that stubbornness is not always the answer.

Okay, so I hope that in this it doesn’t seem like I’m just linking back to old content for the sake of putting up another post without having to write a full one. That’s not the intention. Reading through those made me excited to get back on track and get back with the blog! School doesn’t start up again until the 16th-ish, so I should be able to get some solid content going (and perhaps even appeal to my nutrition-school friends for guest posts–wink, wink). I hope you all are enjoying the holidays, and generally also enjoying the life–I’ll be putting up new content soon!

5 Comments to “Warming Up for Re-blogging”

  1. Yay! I was thinking about you just today (what a coincidence!) and i feel cheered up knowing that you’re going to be blogging again!

  2. I’m so glad to see you back. I always enjoyed your blog and how straight forward you were with your journey. Always chuckled at the shots of your feet, exercising and hitting your dresser, shots riding your bike, food shots, etc. . . It was all great!!!

    Since August, I started utilizing My Fitness Pal and have lost 37 lbs or a total of 50 lbs for the year. I still want to lose at least another 100 lbs so this is my year. Lot of changes in my life too and the most major change was leaving a job after 12 years in Atlanta and moving to Las Vegas for a great opportunity. So far so good, but some big changes.

    Thanks for taking the time to blog. I know life got busy, but you were busy before too. You know what you need to do and you’ll find the balance. I know you will. A friend on MFP posted the following below, which I could totally relate too and thought you might enjoy it too. Welcome back and keep blogging!!!! Susan

    10 Habits of Effective Changemakers

    How does one make lasting, effective change? With the new year near, many people will attempt fitness and weight loss-related changes, yet will fail due to being ill-prepared. Don’t let that be you this year and read on below to learn the top 10 practices Life Time Weight Loss success stories do to make effective change, no matter what behavior they are trying to master!

    1. They assess their readiness.
    Changemakers know how ready they are to make a change before they even attempt it. They know there are several different stages of change and not to solely focus on the results they want (such as losing 50 pounds), but to also take the time to understand how ready they really are. Take the time and read Ready, Set, Change! to help learn where you are in that process, how confident you are at attempting change, and what to do instead if you are not ready.

    2. They take personal responsibility.
    Too many people play the blame-game approach when it comes to explaining their current health. Instead of blaming the convenience of fast food or your coworkers who bring treats to work, take ownership when it comes to your health. Don’t think you have to do it alone, because you don’t, but acknowledge that you are the only one to actively change your behavior.

    3. They take small bites.
    Changemakes don’t make the mistake of breaking off more than they can chew! They know no goal is ever too small and that the small changes are what lead to big results. If their goal is to get on a regular exercise routine, they won’t hit the floor running and trying to achieve getting to the gym every day. Instead, they might make a goal of going to the gym 3 days a week and practice that until they are comfortable to up the frequency.

    4. They celebrate small successes.
    With the small-bite approach comes the importance of celebrating those little successes! Changemakers know that positive reinforcement helps keep them on track and serves as a reminder of the journey they are on to making change. Spend the time to explore a reward system for yourself, it could be as simple as writing down your milestones in a journal or buying new workout clothes or shoes.

    5. They assess their environment and change it if they have to.
    Changemakers don’t underestimate the importance of environment. They know it can hold stimulus’ that can take them off path in a quick second. Take the time to assess your environment and address if anything will get in your way of finding success. Create new stimulus’ if need be, such as laying out your workout clothes every night so when you wake up, there is now excuse not to workout.

    6. They focus on good behaviors to master, not what bad behaviors to stop.
    Start the journey off right by keeping a positive mindset. Instead of telling yourself you really need to stop eating fast food for lunch, focus more on planning and packing lunches instead. The mindset is suttle, but the payoff to the approach is huge.

    7. They don’t solely rely on motivation.
    As the saying goes, “motivation is what gets you started, but habits are what keep you going.” Changemakers know that forming habits are the key to long term success and that making change takes work and time.

    8. They know their triggers and take them seriously.
    Take the time to identify what triggers would get in the way of your success. This might be a certain food, or even a certain person, that leads you down a destructive path. Changemakers avoid the triggers at all cost until they build the confidence to stand against them.

    9. They find the right support.
    Support is huge. Tell the people you trust and that can help provide the best support.

    10. They learn “how”.
    Most people know what they need to do but often road block themselves to success because they never take the time to learn how. For example, you might want to eat healthier and that you should be eating more vegetables, but if you don’t know doable strategies to help you eat more vegetables, your success is limited. Research or hire a coach to help you learn the how.

  3. YESSSSSS I AM SO HAPPY YOU ARE BACK! I miss you and your blog. Also, I will forever credit you as one of my inspirations for running and “fatness stopping” (as you put it). THANKS 🙂

Leave a Reply

