Cilantro Turkey Burger

I usually think that the things I cook sans-recipe (aka my Culinary BS experiments) are good, but. Well. This dinner was phenomenal.

She doesn’t know it, but inspiration for this one comes from my college friend, Emily, who keeps a cooking blog. Recently, Emily posted an amazing recipe for Cilantro Lime Shrimp, which I tried out for a little dinner gathering a few weeks ago now. The shrimp dish was excellent (make it!), and a fortunate side effect was a large amount of leftover fresh cilantro, which I would prefer to use instead of throw out.

Turkey is relatively plain, and uninteresting turkey burgers (read: not flavored or filled with things) can easily be dry & completely tasteless. The trick to make turkey burgers delicious is to fill them with juicy flavor givers. In this case, those things were cilantro, tomatoes, and red onion.

Turkey burgers are a great medium for creativity. Seriously. You can do anything with them. My friend served me mint & feta turkey burgers once. I made Apple Turkey Burgers a while ago. The only way to make a turkey burger not good is to not put anything in it & expect it to have a good flavor. Go crazy with these guys. But first, you really should try this preparation! 

In terms of how much of each of these things to mix in with the turkey burger, just kind of make it up. I probably used about 2 tablespoons of each, finely chopped.  I also added a little bit of salt & pepper. Some people use spoons to mix things, but I find hands to be much more satisfying.

The delicious additions caused the burger to just about double in size. 
Heat up your pan (one day, I will have a grill), and cook this, covered, for about 6 minutes a side. Don’t play with it too much, as it’ll be somewhat fragile until it’s cooked. And no one will judge you if you have to cut into it to see if it’s cooked — you do not want this to be pink at all.  I added some tomato slices to the pan, as well, planning ahead for burger toppings.

speaking of burger toppings…one piece of toast is covered in avocado, the other side in those sauteed tomato slices. Here is some proof that I checked the cooked-ness of the burger by cutting into it…
Enjoy! 

4 Comments to “Cilantro Turkey Burger”

  1. Eeeeeee!! I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to know that someone out there actually MAKES my recipes!! Isn’t that shrimp divine!? Speaking of divine, that burger looks absolutely fantastic. I’m making chili tonight and had to buy the meat in three 1lb packs. The recipe only calls for 2 1/2 lbs of meat and I was thinking what on earth I was going to do with the leftover bit and now here you’ve turned around and inspired me! xoxoxo

  2. Why can’t I think like this? I fixed turkey burgers the other night and you’re so right – blah and plain. i did add some guac spread and a red onion slice, but I did add much to the burger just pepper and garlic. I really need to start thinking outside of the box. I’m really trying to eat healthier, but shooting myself in the foot by not making it taste good. Duh. . . Thank you again for the idea and Emily’s Cilantro Shimp – two of my favorite things!!!!

  3. Probably not a good idea to read this when it’s lunch hour at work and my lunch from home looks less than appetizing. I think I will attempt this this week! 🙂

  4. I hope it’s OK, but I’m a “little” addicted to Pinterest. If you’ve never been, check it out!! I pinned your Cilantro Turkey Burger. It looked so good I had to share.

Leave a Reply

