Ginger Honey Lemon Tea: an Excellent Cold Remedy

This is a great cure-all for the sinus-related ailments that are abound this time of year. It includes juice of half a lemon, some honey, and as much grated ginger as you can stand. This is tried and true — I’d much rather have this mixture things when I’m sick than pseudoephedrine and its cohorts, but sometimes drugs are good, too.

Anyway, if you have a cold, I’m sorry, but here, have some tea:

And you can certainly keep on adding hot water, honey, and ginger for as long as the lemon remains lemony!  In fact, now that I’ve typed this post up, my mug needs a little refresher.

9 Comments to “Ginger Honey Lemon Tea: an Excellent Cold Remedy”

  1. I totally agree; a few months back, I got a head cold. I ended up picking up some honey lemon tea from Lipton. It was so amazing that I ended up buying more and more – even after my sickness went away. I now have a cup of tea of this everyday :)) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. I ♥ you for this recipe. I had a cup of wonderful lemon ginger tea at a great asian noodle restaurant and have been wanting to make my own ever since!!! I will be doing this very soon (just need to grab some ginger!)

  3. What a great recipe! Have you heard of the natural cough syrup? The recipe is: 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper,
    1/4 teaspoon ground ginger, 1 tablespoon honey, 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar, and 2 tablespoons water. Mix it all together and sip as needed. I made it last winter and it helped so much. I made some for my father (who was a little skeptical) and he ended up making some every night before bed for several nights! And one other little point, you need to go to a Farmer’s Market and get some local honey. Not only does it taste 1000 times better, it has local pollen so it helps build up your resistance to local allergens (or something like that). Fingers crossed that you get good news soon and I’m looking forward to taking you to lunch once I am settled in Boston (or maybe before, you never know!)

    • I keep on forgetting and then remembering and getting psyched that you’re moving up here!

      And next time I have a cough, that’ll be the remedy–sounds very cool.

      And I only ever use honey when I’m sick, so that little shaws thing will last for (hopefully!) a while. When the parents had bees in the backyard, we were very spoiled with VERY local honey. yum!

      see you soon!

  4. Does the ginger dissolve though? I love all those ingredients so I’m definitely going to try this, but I don’t want it to be like pulp. I don’t care for OJ with pulp. I want to just have clear tea versus stuff floating around. I’m a little weird like that. Another thoughtful and useful blog yet again. . . keep them coming!!!

  5. Around here it is whiskey with honey & lemon. It’s even given to kids.

  6. I love this tea! On Monday I woke up with a temperature, very sore throat, stuffy nose, and dry cough. I found this recipe and luckily had all the ingredients. It felt so nice to drink a warm, aromatic, flavorful drink. I had 2 cups Monday and Tuesday. I felt so good after each cup. it is Wednesday and I am feeling better overall and I attribute a lot of it to the tea.

    This tea tastes and feels so good I am thinking of making it a daily drink even when I feel well!

    Thanks you!

Leave a Reply

