Butternut Squash Apple Ginger Soup

Fall is the most delicious of the seasons, and this soup is one of my many fall standard squash dishes.It’s really easy to prepare, and cooks somewhat quickly. It seems a lot fancier than it is, too, which is great for those of us who are trying to trick the world as to how sophisticated the items that emerge from our kitchen really are.

Plus, this gives me something to do with all of the appples left over from my study the other day!

Here’s what’s in the soup:

I was tempted to add garlic when I made this once, an it was a bad move. Learn from my mistakes, people.

Use however much ginger you want — I sliced off about half an inch of that root, and it was delightfully gingery. And use whichever variety of apple you please. There is no need for the apple you use to already have a portion cut from it, either. I used about half of that squash — the top bit was made into soup a few days earlier, and the bottom bit will be made into soup in a few more days. You could do a similar soup with any kind of squash, I think, and this would probably also be great with a sweet potato. 

Peel and cube your squash, cut up your apple and onion, and cut the ginger into smaller chunks. It doesn’t really matter what size everything is, since it’s all going to be smashed up together later. It’s good to try to keep the squash bits all around the same size, so that they cook at the same speed. Put everything in your pot, and add water until it just covers the pile of food.

Then cover the pot, put it on the stove, and bring the water to a boil. Put the lid back on, and turn the heat down to let everything simmer until the squash is easily smooshable with your wooden spoon.

Once it is, it’s time to mash up the soup. If you have an immersion blender, way to go. If you don’t, use a blender, food processor, or, if you’re patient and strong, a potato masher. 

Protip: don’t life the immersion blender out of the soup until it’s stopped blending, or you will get scaling soup all over your face/oven/pajamas.

Once it’s all blended together (make sure you get those ginger chunks or you’ll be in for a surprise!), add whatever spices you so desire. I enjoy nutmeg, salt, and pepper in this.

I enjoy how it’s a creamy soup, but without cream or anything similar.

Serve it up, and enjoy! Pairs well with pumpkin beer. As most things do this time of year. 

3 Comments to “Butternut Squash Apple Ginger Soup”

  1. You just make everything seem so darn easy and good!! I love squash especially butternut, but I get so nervous about mixing other ingredients. This seems so easy and looks really good. My food just doesn’t look this good. Keep the post coming!!!!

  2. I love fall food and I’m excited to try this recipe (and thanks for the garlic tip – I will resist the urge!). *mouthwater* 🙂

Leave a Reply

