Green Apple and Shallot Tuna Salad

Lunch really doesn’t get enough attention or praise, does it?My colleagues can attest to the fact that I have been eating the same thing for lunch (salad with tomatoes, cucumber, chicken and beans, a cheese stick, and a piece of toast) every day for just about a year. If I don’t eat that for lunch, it’s because it’s the weekend, I’m out of lettuce, and I’m having a big plate of scrambled eggs (probably with tomato, mushroom, and a cheese stick mixed in, and a piece of toast on the side) instead. I don’t think about lunch a lot, and that’s just fine. But. I find that when I give just a smidgen of extra attention to lunch, things like this green apple & shallot tuna emerge from my brain. It’s more interesting & more delicious, I think, than the standard celery + tuna combination, so give it a shot! And yes, I do find it completely impossible to resist buying a still-warm baguette from Whole Foods every once in a while.

I quite enjoyed this combination of flavors. The tart sweetness of the green apple and the subtle spiciness of the shallot were lovely when paired with the tunay-ness of the tuna. I used greek yogurt instead of mayonnaise, which is a very easy substitution to make. I don’t think I need to use any more words to describe what I did, especially with that whole picture = 1kwords thing.Boom. Super easy, super interesting, super delicious.

The only thing I could think of to compete with this tuna salad was this arugula and watermelon salad that I threw on the plate, too, with a little bit of balsamic vinegar on top.

I’d definitely categorize this under A Very Delightful Summer Lunch. Enjoy!

 

2 Comments to “Green Apple and Shallot Tuna Salad”

  1. MMMMMmmm! Delicious! I will have to try this! 🙂

  2. Yum yum & ditto although it’s cold & wet on this side of the world so hard pressed to get the feeling of summer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

