How To Roast Vegetables and Why You Should

All right. I’m aware this is a straight forward “how to cook this food” post, but this is, in my opinion, the most delicious way to prepare vegetables, and I want to make sure that everyone knows about it.

In addition to my belief that eggs go on everything and oatmeal is a magical food, I truly believe that lightly coating a vegetable in olive oil (I just rub it on with my hands), salt, and pepper, and then sticking it in a 425 degree oven yields awesome food.

Roasting vegetables brings out the natural sweetness of vegetables, makes your house smell delicious, and is really really hard to mess up. I highly encourage mixing numerous vegetables & roasting them together. I also highly encourage sticking in a few un-peeled cloves of garlic with whatever you’re roasting, because, well, that’s just delicious.

With the exception of lettuce and cucumbers, I can’t think of a vegetable that wouldn’t be good roasted.

Of course, feel free to stray from the salt/pepper combo and go for something else. And, if you’re not wanting to use oil (although I don’t understand why not), a generous spraying of cooking spray does the trick. If some of these vegetables are not ones that you normally enjoy, I do suggest that you try them roasted — they all (especially the Brussels sprouts) taste quite different when cooked this way.

Asparagus takes around 20-25 minutes. Just snap off the hard ends, and BAM, roast them up.

Eggplant takes about 40-50 minutes. Just chop it up into little pieces (or slices). Since eggplant is spongy, it can take more oil than other things, so I usually do the standard 2 tspns of oil, and then some cooking spray.

Roasted Brussels sprouts are one of my favorite foods and taste a bajillion times more delicious than you ever thought Brussels sprouts could taste. Just cut off the nob thing, and then cut an X into the bottom of the sprout--I don't know the real benefits to cutting them this way, but that's what my Nana does. We'll say these take 25-35 minutes.

Cauliflower. Straight forward. I'd guess cook time at 30 mins, but I confess that I am making that up.

Oven fries are just the same as any of these other things, really. These take around 30-40 minutes

Squash can be cooked like this, too. It takes about 45-60 minutes.

Roasted green beans, broccoli, kale (really — click here to learn about kale chips), tomatoes, onion, mushroom, and probably just about any other thing you can think of is also totally and completely delicious. I’m aware that for some people vegetables can be unappealing, but I promise you, when cooked this way, they take on completely different flavors and are positively delightful. Now that I’m drooling over these pictures, I definitely need to roast something for dinner tonight.

11 Responses to “How To Roast Vegetables and Why You Should”

  1. it all looks & sounds so good! may have to give this a try.

  2. Dude–Thanks so much for this perfectly timed post!!
    I have been trying to figure out how to like cauliflower, and now I am going to try to roast it! YAY!
    Thanks!!

  3. Sarah Novello: saving one graduating senior at a time.

  4. You’re a girl after my own heart!!!!!
    I hope you know how disappointed I am when you don’t post every day!

  5. Sarah,

    I roast asparagus, carrots, broccoli and, of course, potatoes all the time but haven’t tried cauliflower and brussel sprouts. They’re not traditionally my favorite veggies, but I do believe in the power of roasting so I think you’ve convinced me to branch out and try something new. Thanks for the post!

    Deb

  6. Roasting is the BEST! My favorite combo is onion, red pepper, zucchini, mushrooms and a few garlic cloves. Delicious.

  7. I had these amazing roasted vegetables at Wildfire here in Atlanta. The peppers, mushrooms, brussel sprouts, etc. . . were simply devine. I keep trying to figure out how they did them, but just can’t figure it out. This really helps me a lot!

    I was never a big fan of asparagus without hollandaise sauce. I normally need to dip veggies in something, but this roasted variety look and sound delish without any needed extra calories!!! Thanks again for the insightful blog – it’s awesome!!

  8. Why do you roast your vegetables with unpeeled garlic? Am I missing out on something???

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

