Staying on Track while Traveling

Confession: The suitcase is not packed, but rather full of other suitcases. I just wanted a picture. But. I will be bringing those sneakers and that emergency power bar for any ravenous moments that may occur.

Tomorrow morning at around 6am, Mama and I are stepping onto a plane to go visit my middlest, tallest, and most musically inclined brother in Chicago.  Despite the irony of going to somewhere that’s actually colder than Boston during a time of year when so many people seem to be off on Caribbean beaches and cruises, we’re psyched for Chicago (and to see Alex, too) and are going to have an excellent time.

As you guys know, I like knowing in advance exactly what I’m going to eat and how I’m going to exercise, because when those decisions are already made, it’s harder to change the plan than to stick with the plan. Also, I don’t have to think about food or exercise—it just happens how I planned for it to happen.

When it comes to traveling, it’s basically impossible to make these decisions far ahead of time. Okay, it’s possible, but I think that it takes a lot of the good stuff out of traveling—what’s the fun of checking out a new city if you’re stressing about how you’re going to get in those necessary servings of dairy?

So here are my healthy-living goals and plans for the weekend, along with my commentary on why I’m including them.

  1. Have fun, and enjoy my time with Mama, Alex, and Chicago.
    Enjoying yourself should always be #1 when you’re traveling—it’s a break. It should be fun. 

  2. Aim to eat food that I could cook/make myself or would have in my own kitchen.
    I like this one, because it keeps me away from french fries, pastries, ice cream, and other processed type food, and keeps me near things with natural (read: healthy) ingredients. It also often inspires me to try to cook new dishes, based on the things that I have at restaurants. It doesn’t force me to eat only salads and boring stuff like that, either, because I like the “challenge” that I give myself when I order something that I’m not 100% sure of how to make yet. 

  3. My brain is on a mini vacation, but my body isn’t.
    It still has to process food and operate successfully, and it operates most successfully and energetically when fueled correctly. Just because I’m on vacation, doesn’t mean that choices I make in terms of how I treat my body don’t “count” – I’ll still be able to feel them. My mind is happiest and most relaxed when my body feels awesome—I like to keep that in mind. 

  4. Aim to be active and get some exercising in, but don’t make it the focus.
    Any exercise I can squeeze in will be great and bonus. Gym clothes are packed for what is sure to be a charming hotel gym, but I don’t want to lose out on vacation time because I’m in a gym. As in #3, happy body leads to a happy mind, so being active is good. 

  5. Healthy people with healthy food-minds enjoy some treats when they’re traveling.
    No one’s 100% healthy 100% of the time – that’s totally boring. Healthy people enjoy treats in a non-obsessive way, normal way. Do that. 

  6. Have fun, and enjoy the time with Mama, Alex, and Chicago.
    I can focus on eating vegetables and running any old time.

Okay! Now that I’m mentally prepared for the healthy-bits of my trip, I think it’s time to get actually prepared and maybe pack or something…?

Anyone else have things they keep in mind for staying on track on the road?

In other, self-centered news, I’m kind of excited to get on a plane and sit in a seat at this current weight – last plane ride was +60 pounds ago, so this will be the first one ever where I feel somewhat comfortable (fingers crossed!).

In other, non-self centered news, I came across this awesome post on being satisfied and proud of yourself for being the runner that you are the other day (I stalk numerous people), and haven’t been able to stop thinking about how much I love it. So check it out!

Okay, have excellent weekends!

3 Comments to “Staying on Track while Traveling”

  1. Saved, I love your blog! 🙂

  2. i think you are wonderful. great goals. i saved them for my next vacation so i have them to look at!

  3. Hi to every one, the contents present at this web site are genuinely remarkable for people experience,
    well, keep up the nice work fellows.

Leave a Reply

