On Binge Eating

I’ve been hesitating to write this post for the same reasons I hesitated to publish this blog – similarly to how no one is proud to say that they were once 300+ pounds, no one is proud to say that they binge eat.

I binge eat.

It’s so completely unattractive.

I deleted half of what I wrote about 93 times, but you know what, whatever – here’s an honest and open commentary on binge eating. It’s not cute, but not everything is. I share it in hopes that others will benefit from what I write.  Making discussions like this public is a big part of why I started this blog. This is long (2242 words long). There aren’t pictures. But I think it’s good– I’ve worked hard to organize my thoughts. The hope I that writing this will both benefit others who struggle with the same issue and help me sort out my brain.

I probably binge eat 2-4 times a month, and have since the beginning of my weight loss journey. As my mindset has changed and developed, so have the reasons for and process of the binge eating. I think that it’s the last unhealthy habit that I have to kick— I have a feeling that I’m far from kicking it.  There has been some progress: I have not lied about binge eating (either to myself or to others) for at least a year, and that is a big point of pride. I have been working to try to at least eat nutritious food when I have the uncontrollable urge to eat. The fact that I’m writing this with the intention to publish it on Blog is serious progress.

Since binge eating isn’t a comfortable conversation topic (we don’t often chat about moments when we feel we have lost control over our actions), I don’t know how common it is — I bet more people struggle with it than discuss it. Is something completely foreign to those without weight issues? Please, enlighten me. Seriously–healthy weight people, I’m curious as all hell: do you ever mindlessly eat even though you’re not hungry? Do you feel like you’re in control of yourself when you do? (and please comment anonymously with the lifelivedhealthfully@gmail.com email address if that’s how you’re comfortable).

I have a lot to say on this topic but I’ll keep it organized. I’ll write on my perception of the “anatomy” of a binge, why I think it’s a challenge to overcome binge eating, will throw in the Sarah Binge Story (which is as charming as you think it is), and will write on why binge eating isn’t the be-all-end-all for a healthy lifestyle.

All right – Let’s get going.

The Anatomy of a Binge
I’m hereby officially declaring a binge to be a span of time during which one eats for the sake of eating, mindlessly and uncontrollably downing food because it is there and it can be eaten.

1) What Inspires a Binge

If it was clear what “inspires” a binge, they would be a lot easier to avoid.  I have a few ideas.

– When one limits what he or she eats and makes certain foods or certain types of food “forbidden,” I think they become more attractive, and eventually it’s easy to give in and eat the things that have been made forbidden.
Certain surroundings definitely inspire binges. Simply because I snuck-ate so much food in my parents’ house when I was growing up, whenever I’m in that house alone, I “take stock” by rifling through the cabinets to see what’s there. I don’t eat it anymore, really, but I still check it out to see what options are (they’re never very good – my parents are very healthy eaters. They have Thin Mints in the freezer right now, in case you were wondering, and are probably pretty impressed that I know that). When people are around in the house, I have no problem and couldn’t care less about food. But when I’m alone in that house, man. I stuff my mouth with clementines and leave.
– I think an improperly fueled body can also lead one to binge eat. When I was training for my half marathon, my body seemed to just absolutely crave sugar after I ran my long runs. Perhaps if I had refueled it properly after my workouts, instead of being greedy about trying to burn more calories & eat more so that I lost weight faster, this wouldn’t have been an issue. Regardless, because of this, I’m intending to hold off on another Big Athletic Endeavor until I’m at a weight that I anticipate being more permanent.
Emotional triggers can obviously also inspire binges— I think that’s fairly standard and doesn’t need further commentary.
– There’s some sugar threshold, I think, that defines how much sugar the brain can have before some switch flips and sugar is craved.  I eat candy and things like that because I don’t ever intend to live a life without chocolate so won’t restrict myself during the shrinking process. Since I don’t eat a lot of sugar (except in fruit, really), I think that my body is more reactive to it than it used to be—after I’ve eaten a cookie (okay, maybe 2 cookies), I can feel the difference in my body and it’s a lot harder to resist eating further cookies.

2) Mid-Binge

Mid-binge is a horrible place to be. I don’t know how to explain it (and it’s impossible to explain without seeming like I seriously need to go to rehab) – I don’t want to eat more, I just do. I don’t think the food tastes good, I just eat it. I don’t care what I’m eating (but it’s never carrot sticks). Once I’ve “decided” that I’m binge eating, I determine that I might as well keep it up – eating 500 extra calories can’t be that much better for you than eating 1000 or 2000 extra calories, right? (wrong) The food-hand-mouth-chew motion becomes the most natural thing in the world. I don’t think about why I’m eating or even really that I am eating. I just eat. Wow, re-reading that is scary. Point is, my mind is not my own when this is going on. I hate it.

I think I am still comforted by eating in this way – for so many years, this was my relationship with food; I can’t help it. But being aware of this is important.

3) End of the Binge

Usually, the binge ends when I leave the place with the food. As you know, I don’t have really binge-able food in my apartment. Sometimes, I can end a binge early with a preemptive cup of tea or some gum. But mid-binge, that is a hard thing to convince myself to do. When it ends, though, I am happy that it is behind me.

4) Aftermath

Waking up the next morning is like the most horrible hangover in the world. Workouts are harder (your body is still working to process all of the unnecessary food you gave it, instead of working to power through a workout), there is no energy to be had, and ugh– miserable feelings all around. It usually takes at least 12 hours of eating healthily for me to feel normal again, and when I feel normal, I appreciate it more than ever.

Some Reasons Why This Is a Hard Habit to Kick

– You can’t avoid food. You have to eat it to live.
– Redefining a relationship with food is really hard.
– Food tastes good. I wonder if fewer people would have weight issues if we had no tastes buds.
– For me, binge eating is something I’ve always done, so, despite it being uncomfortable for my body, there is a comfort that I find in mindlessly stuffing my face. Which is messed up.

The Sarah Binge Back Story & Current Story

Binge eating (and sneak-binge-eating) is probably at least 85% of the reason that I became so flipping fat. I remember saying to my lovely mother, “Mom, it’s just not fair! I eat turkey sandwiches and carrot sticks and THAT’S IT and I’m so so fat!” with tears streaming down my face.  I think there were moments when I actually convinced her that I never ate anything except what she fed me, but I don’t really know. Meanwhile, I had 2 cartons of Ben & Jerry’s stashed in the downstairs freezer, a jumbo bag of m&ms in my bedside table, some empty fast food bags smushed in my back pack (to be craftily hidden in the very bottom of the basement trash can later), pop-tart wrappers hidden in the glove compartment of my car, and crumbs from the cookies I ate during 5th period English in my jeans pockets. Impressive, huh? And that was just any random Wednesday when I knew I would be leaving the house again on Thursday and could easily re-stock. Of course the way that I binge eat now is completely different than those days, but I thought I’d share that snapshot of 17-year-old-Sarah.

As I’ve written before, when I first started my weight loss journey, I celebrated losses with a binge. Now, I never “want” to binge eat – binges just sort of happen, usually at night after a good day of eating and exercising.  Before, I would binge eat because it was just what I did when I was hanging out by myself. Now, I’m most impacted by the sugar-threshold thing. Maybe I could just completely avoid chocolate and this wouldn’t happen, but by making a “forbidden food,” I fear that more binges would happen.

Since I have a hard time stopping the binge once the urge to eat arrives, I try to sculpt it in a way where I’m still avoiding the food that I don’t want to put in my body (read: crap food). Instead of finding myself at a fast food place or midway through an ice cream carton (neither one of those things appeals to me anymore—I think they would make my body would completely freak out), after eating the item(s) which inspired the binge, I find myself at 7-11 trying to pick out the sandwich I want (last time it was turkey and cheese on whole wheat). Then I’ll make hot chocolate at home. Then I’ll drink water. Then I’ll poke around my kitchen, hating (and loving) myself for making the binge options so miserable — there are certainly no Thin Mints in my freezer! Sometimes I’ll go to whole foods and buy prepared food and some jelly candy things. It could be a lot worse. Having a body that is more sensitive to overeating makes me do it in a way where I satisfy my binge-desiring head in as controlled and healthy a way as possible. Even though it’s neither truly controlled nor healthy.

I don’t like it and I’m frustrated that it’s still an issue.

I truly don’t care what my scale says, but binge eating is, without doubt, what has kept me within an 8 pound range since October. I can eat brilliantly, exercise, and be just all around a super healthy person all week, but one binge turns what “should” be a minus 1-2 pound week into a maintain or gain week. When I was heavier, one binge wouldn’t impact the scale, now it seems to be all that impacts the scale. But a binge now is much more controlled than binges in October were. Progress is slow, but it’s there. For instance, I couldn’t have written this in October, not because I would have been too nervous to publicize it, but because I hadn’t begun to work through all of this head stuff.

It’s good that it takes a while to lose this much weight – getting my mind to de-fat is a lot harder than getting my body to de-fat.  Yes, I want to be at a healthy weight (I want pretty new clothes that I will wear for longer than a few months!), but I don’t want to get there until my head is at a place to maintain it. Working through things like this is a lot more important, long term, than getting the scale to move.

Binge Eating is not Going to “Ruin” Your Healthiness

It’s how you treat your body the majority of the time that defines healthiness, right? Not the occasional loss of control? Right? Absolutely. I used to really only get pleasure from food. Now I get sustenance from food and pleasure from the energy that my body has because I am sustaining it in a healthy way. I eat to live, I don’t live to eat. But sometimes I slip. But the slipping doesn’t define me.

I mean, yes, it is bad for your body to have to process that much excess food. I’m not questioning that. But, ultimately, as we learn how to treat our bodies in the healthiest way possible, we are going to come across roadblocks. It can’t be the roadblocks that define the successfulness of the journey—by battling against the roadblocks and determining how to more gracefully overcome them in the future, we become stronger, get to know ourselves better, and become better equipped for future success.

BAM I got all philosophical on ya. I think that means I should wrap this up.

I’ve written a lot here (but have edited out about 800 words, if you can believe it), and I’m really curious to hear how/if other people struggle with, or don’t struggle with, this, if you’re comfortable sharing.

I hope this was as helpful to read as it was to write.

23 Comments to “On Binge Eating”

  1. Sarah,

    What a great post this is! I’ve been seeing you on the 100+ to Lose board on WW for a while now and noticed your success.

    First of all, I’m impressed with your honesty and agree with you about the sugar threshold issue. Sugar or other empty carbs (white flour) are real trigger foods for me. And you’ve described the anatomy of a binge perfectly. It really does defy logic and I guess people who haven’t had this issue can’t even imagine why we do what we do. However, I did want to respond to your question regarding smaller people and whether they binge. My best friend (since we were in second grade) has always been slim, sometimes even skinny, but she definitely binged as well and still struggles with it. However, given her metabolism, body type, and love of sports she never got fat, but we always joked there was a fat person inside her trying to get out!

    You’re also dead on about making foods forbidden. Now that I have a 9 yo daughter I am very aware about making any kind of food a control issue. I probably let her eat more desserts that I should, but I talk about portion and frequency, and she often leaves half of her dessert on her plate, which I take a good sign. Lord, the whole food thing feels like a minefield to me, and while I haven’t managed to lose much in the past few years, I have stopped gaining and feel I model good eating behavior most of the time. I’m just trying not to to wreck her, you know?

    For myself, it is so helpful to hear where you are in your journey. What a great job you’ve done being honest about what’s going on with you. I feel close to the same place in some respects, but my big hurdles are the binges and making exercise a habit. I’ve figured out the sugar/carb connection and how to make “better” choices when I do overeat in order to keep from spinning completely out of control. Finally, at age 48, I actually stop to think about how tired and crappy I’ll feel tomorrow if I eat that stuff. Okay, it doesn’t always stop me, but actually thinking about it ahead of time is a HUGE change for me.

    Finally, thanks for putting so much of yourself out there, Sarah. You’ve had remarkable success and I wish you more of the same in the future.

    Regards,
    Deb

    • Deb, thank you so much for this response — I find it so interesting how common this is, especially since, mid-binge, I used to often think, “ew, I’m gross and the only person in the world who is this messed up”.

      I’ll look forward to seeing you on the boards more 🙂

  2. Sarah, I wanted to post a reply for a number of reasons. First and foremost, I am truly amazed at your courage to post about what I know must be hard to face. Second, to thank you for doing so. And third, to give you another’s perspective on binge eating.

    I too was over 300 pounds a few years ago, and I too had my binges – how could I not? But from your description mine were seemingly very different. I think the majority of my binges were punishment. Sometimes I was punishing myself, but just as often I was punishing someone else. Hey – I never said this was going to make any sense, did I? If I was unhappy with the result of, well, ANYTHING really, I would “show them” or maybe myself – by eating. Usually (but not exclusively) I binged on sweets – cookies, baked goods, ice cream. The good news, for me, is that once I stopped letting my worth be defined by the outcomes of things that sometimes had absolutely nothing to do with ME, I stopped the binging. I haven’t had one in over three years, I haven’t even had an urge. That doesn’t mean that I don’t sometimes overeat, don’t get me wrong, but not an out of control, self-destructive binge. And my binges were nothing if not self-destructive.

    Maybe somebody will read this and recognize themselves. I offer it in hopes that it offers somebody some level of comfort.

  3. Hi Sarah – I’ve always enjoyed reading your posts on the 100+ board and have always been impressed by your dedication and humor to this journey.

    I love your blog and love your bravery. I don’t think I have ever talked to anyone about bingeing. I use to do it to numb myself. I think there was also a serious fat/sugar/salt combo the fast food scientists engineered and it took over my brain.

    I totally relate to your stories of hidden food. I too would have wrappers falling out from everywhere. I would eat horrible combinations (pizza followed by a chocolate milkshake) and literally get sick. It has been over 2 years since I have done anything so big, so I thought I had stopped bingeing. Your post made me wonder if I still binge, just in smaller qualities and healthier choices. Hmmmm, always more work to do on this journey to health….

  4. You are a strong woman, Sarah. Binge eating affects people of all sizes simply because eating and emotions go hand in hand in our society. You are not alone, this is a tough battle we all face.

    One foot in front of the other, no matter how big or small that step is….just keep moving forward. (((hugs)))

  5. Sarah, the point that hit home most with me is that once one has a few cookies, it’s a lot harder to stop.

    This is a constant struggle for me. Sometimes I get around this by using my willpower and sometimes I can’t get around it. I’m infinitely proud of myself every time I don’t give into that urge to eat crap. But it’s a constant fight against the primitive part of my brain that says fat and sugar are good – you never know when a famine is going to hit and there won’t be fat and sugar to eat, so I better get it while I can. Brilliant, brain, brilliant.

    I don’t have forbidden foods either because that would really stink not to be able to eat chocolate or a cookie every now and then. However, I don’t keep binge-worthy foods in my house either – it’s easier for me to resist the food in the grocery store. Once I’ve brought it into my house, I’m guaranteed to eat it.

    I often wonder I will ever be able to just eat one cookie and not have an ongoing conversation with myself about how I want another, but know I shouldn’t. Probably never.

    Le sigh.

  6. Sarah,

    I agree – I wish this was something people could talk about more because I think you would find that you’re not alone (at all!)

    Whenever I feel the urge to overeat, saying “no” makes it more of a nagging and ongoing thing that pops its head up again and again until I find some outlet. It is so much more than the food – but an emotional funk that you find yourself in. You “check out” and I can totally relate.

    You still inspire me!

    • wise, Kelsey — i definitely agree that forcing the “no” makes it harder to ignore the urge and that it’s a total emotional funk.
      but being aware of all of this makes it easier to face! 🙂

  7. On another note – any thought it is hormonal? I’m just rolling off an eat-everything-in-sight week and swear hormones are involved….

  8. Sarah-this is something I do as well. Sometimes it’s hormones but most often it’s an emotional response to something. I go along just great and then bam out of nowhere is this insane unstoppable urge to jam junk down my throat. I too hate it and am working on it-I lost 70 lbs. my first trip through WW and after a couple of physical setbacks found myself in a months long binge-I mean nothing was safe! Secret trips to Dairy Queen, burger joints you name it I ate it. I find myself back at the start. I did work through a lot of issues on the way down and back up again so I feel like I’m more prepared this time around but there is a nagging feeling that the binge is going to overtake me and that is something I must work on. I agree with you that no food is off limits and that sugar begs to have playmates-one cookie becomes 3. I don’t celebrate with food anymore because it’s just not necessary and only leads to binges. I feel so much better when I eat healthy and am active so I will continue to work this program and incorporate lessons I’ve learned along the way. Thank you for sharing your journey-it’s wonderful to read about success-especially when the writer is willing to admit that the struggle doesn’t really ever fully end. We just need to stay on our toes and sort through the road blocks as they come.

    • I think that, with each weight loss struggle, we become more mentally prepared to evolve our lives into healthy ones that will lead us to healthy weights. You’re DEFINITELY not along with the secret fast food trips, but I’m sure you know that. Unhealthy food is programmed so much in this society as a reward for “good” behavior –that’s a really hard cycle to snap out of, so way to go!

  9. Sarah- Thanks for posting this. I appreciate your honesty and direct approach on what is a very sensitive issue for a lot of people, including myself. My binge struggles are all based in stress. When I stress, I eat. It makes me feel better, even if only temporarily. I have gained more control over this as I’ve aged, and I’m thankful that it isn’t the obstacle for me that it once was. However, my husband has a real problem with binge eating, and it’s something we are trying to work through together. He is overweight and would never admit to binging. He calls himself a “grazer,” which is basically the same thing with a twist of denial thrown in. I employ the same methods you do with snack foods at home: I only buy healthy options, never junk. But he still stops at the store for a bag of candy and can of pop on the way home. I know this is a battle he has to chose to fight for himself, but do you think there’s anything else I can do to help him and encourage him to get his binging under control?

    • I’m not sure that I can suggest anything — I really think that people need to work out their food issues for themselves. But I’m also absurdly stubborn and self-reliant, so if anyone ever sat me down and said, in as lovely a way as possible, that they wanted to help me get my eating under control, I probably would have smacked them in the face and then eaten 39 boxes of cereal and 54 cans of whipped cream.

      There are emotional, whatever, etc, reasons why we overeat, and I think that finding those reasons and working through why they lead to eating is key to tackling this all.

      Like, since posting this and getting my thoughts organized on binge eating, I feel like I have a much better understanding of my relationship with this challenge. So clearly, I don’t have much to say that’s concrete on this.

  10. Sarah,

    Britt just suggested I take a look at your blog and this post was, of course, near the top and I read every word of it.

    We both know my body type and, quite truthfully, I’ve never had to struggle with it. I know my story can’t compare to yours, however, between the Caf’s menu of onion rings and pizza and a weekly dinner of 5 beers plus whatever munchie-related food might be lying around the dorm room, I think that my diet was as unhealthy as it could possibly be. Going even a step further, now that I have a full time job like a grown up, I am still more apt to buy Korean BBQ from the mall food court.

    What should be happening is that I should love that I have access to beautiful locally grown fruits and veggies year round here in So Cal and go out running with the hundreds of joggers I see along the beach each morning–but I don’t and after all these years, my body is suddenly rebelling! It’s trying to teach me a lesson and the last three years have been a major struggle to try to adjust to a healthier life style.

    I’ll be the first to admit that I’m lazy and unwilling to change my diet drastically, but I can say that nothing has been more inspiring than reading this entry alone!
    I’m so proud of you and can’t wait to see you again.

    And now that I’ve practically written my own blog entry here, I’m going to go read more of yours and continue to be inspired to make healthy choices like yours 🙂

    xoxox

    • Emily! Lovely to hear from you an thank you for sharing your perspective on this! I’ll come to So Cal tomorrow, and you, me, and Britt can go for a run on the beach and then eat mangoes and avocados. Perfect, see you soon!

    • After re-reading your comment (and getting over the initial excitement caused by seeing you here), I’ll add this: starting the process to treating your body a bit more healthfully doesn’t need to involve “drastic” changes, and actually, in my option, is better without anything drastic at all. If you go around making drastic changes all of a sudden, i feel like the changes don’t have time to integrate themselves into your life. Like. If all of a sudden you wake up and are like “OKAY! Today I will eat grilled chicken salad and quinoa all day long and I will run 5 miles and this is what I will do every day all the time,” the change in your life is too dramatic to have time to sink in and really become a part of a maintainable lifestyle. Does that make sense? I don’t think I worded it in the best possible way….

      But the thing to do is integrate smaller, simpler changes one at a time. As you do that, you will be able to note the benefits of each little change and also sort of slowly re-train your mind, day by day. Rather than saying, “BAM, Listen, mind, this is how you’re going to treat your body AND I DON’T CARE WHAT YOU HAVE TO SAY ABOUT IT,” you’re saying, “All right, mind. What’s up. How are ya? Doing okay? Great. Well today, let’s just mix things up and make one more healthy choice today than we did yesterday. That sounds reasonable, right, mind? Thought you’d think so”.

      Do you see what I’m getting at? The natural integration of healthiness verses the YOU MUST MAKE ALL OF THE HEALTHY CHOICES RIGHT NOW OR YOU FAIL AT BEING HEALTHY mindset! This stuff has to be livable.

      Okay. Must pack for my trip to come run with you and Britt. See you soon.

  11. I completely understand everything you wrote. I just had a binge and im so uncomfortably full. I couldnt feel worse about myself at the moment.

    I have serious issues with food i dont even know what eating disorder i have its like a mash up of everything. Im never just satisfied im either stuffed or starving and i cant find in between however much i try. When i try to eat a normal meal im fully aware of what im doing bit the binge still sneaks up on me.

    I know eating disorders indicate underlying emotional issues and ive been going to counciling but ive been doing it for so long i dont even know what i feel anymore. If i dont know how am i supposed to deal with it.

  12. Sarah,

    Yes. “Seriously-healthy weight people” (as you put it) struggle with this. I am 5 feet and 113 lbs (on most days), and I have been struggling with binge eating for a really long time. Like you, I only binge, maybe at most, once a week. I did today. I had to go to Party City to buy some things and who could resist their 7 cent candy deals? I ended up buying 15 sweedish fish for one dollar, 10 pieces of fun-size chocolate for 2 bucks, and 5 sour patch watermolon candy things for a dollar also. I sat in my car in the parking lot of this binge-eater’s hell and ate every. single. thing. I felt completely out of control as I went through the food-hand-mouth-chew (nicely done) process. I loved your “mid-binge” description because that is EXACTLY how I felt mid-binge.
    I told my mom about my binge, which made me feel slightly better. I feel like I binge on days I feel fat, and once I binge for the day it’s over. I can’t stop eating, and I feel like hey, I binged already today so whatever let’s keep it going. I don’t binge due to emotional reasons. I binge because candy and chocolate tastes so effing good and I restrict it most days of the month. Except when I binge. I would keep it in my house, but these are “red light foods” as I put it, meaning if it’s in my house I will binge on it. My number one red light food? Peanut butter. I would gain probably 3 pounds a week if I kept peanut butter in my house.

    I feel extremely guilty about my binge today because I’ve been trying to only eat 1400 calories all week (I’m going away next Friday) and I haven’t been able to stick to it once. I haven’t been going over by much, but I have definitely not kept it at 1400. And then I binged and felt hopeless. But your post really helped and made me feel not so alone. So thanks.

  13. I am so thankful for this post. Binge eating can be a vicious cycle, and it’s nice to know that we aren’t alone in our struggles.

  14. binge eating is the result of having a weak mind. its not that hard to say NO. i know its a common thing among people, doesnt matter what size or shape you are.. and are caused by many different triggers.. like boredom, stress, cravings.. etc. ive never been over-weight, im 5′ and 110 lbs, but did go through a period of depression.. and despite no exercise and being put on both anti-depressants and anxiety, the meds did cause me to bloat from water weight and spiked my hunger. it was a battle to avoid the urges to eat constantly, even when i did feel full and couldnt cram in any more food!.. i slowly overcame it all by making the effort to change my mind-set about food. being persistent, and not giving up. carefully listening to my body about what it needs. i very very gradually made food and lifestyle changes, working with my body knowing when it was ready to go to the next step. i now exercise, and think of food as fuel for my body! our bodies are constantly trying to repair itself everyday, cells, organs.. expelling energy. so like you would fill up a nice car with good gas, why not fuel your body with the best food choices possible? that can only lead you to feeling and “running” your ultimate best? Everybody’s body is different, so it is about figuring out what is best and works for you.. I have been playing detective since last year, and I’m still learning! about how my body reacts to different foods, about ingredient labels.. what doesnt agree with my body, what keeps me regular, what keeps me energized. it may all sound like a lot to take in, but like i mentioned before it was all very gradual and ive been working on it for the last year. im striving to being healthy. I noticed diet was a huge factor in triggering urges to binge. the more i ate processed foods, the more my body craved for junk. ive cut out all flour and sugars mainly from my diet, progressively. and am always looking for the healthier alternatives. the more i get in the nutrients i need from natural foods, the more the cravings stop for junk!.. i actually crave for my fruits and veggies now!.. my body gets its sugars, proteins and carbs from oatmeal, fruits, veggies, beans, nuts, and meat.. breads pasta and rice, or anything processed with flour hurts my insides so i dont miss them or want them. and i stay away from anything processed, cheeses, cookies, cereals, etc, as much as possible.. anyway, sorry for the long essay lol but thought id share my experience and hope somehow it would give some insight and help in some way as well.. [: congrats on your success so far! keep going!

  15. Hi, I can see this is from several years ago, but I find it a great post and wanted to comment. I too know the mid-binge feeling. I know I should stop, but somehow I can’t make myself. It is mindless and stupid, but still I can’t stop myself until the food is gone. One thing I’m trying now, recommended by my sister. Is Whey protein powder, dissolved in milk (i like almond milk). I can;t believe how this cuts my hunger. I am generally always hungry. this seems to cut the urge to eat. I think I binge when I’m lonely, and feeling rejected. Somehow eating comforts me. But, somehow I fail to connect the bad feelings afterward with the act of overeating. I need a way to connect this. I haven’t been taking the whey powder that long, about a week, but the thought of bingeing when I’m feeling so full- I think this will help.

Leave a Reply

