A Winter Run in Boston

I hope you’ve noticed that 99.9% of my posts are meant to be somewhat informative and helpful as you all look towards living life healthfully and all of that nice stuff. That is generally how I intend to use this space.

This post? I just took pictures during a snowy run around my city, and decided that I would come up with a post to write around them. I do hope you don’t mind this moderately self-indulgent act, as I seek to share the running route (and act of winter running) that I love so much with all of you.

Despite the numerous necessary layers, sharp wind, snow-covered paths, near constant darkness, and occasional ice-slicks, I think I enjoy winter running more than summer running. It seems more adventurous.

I love bundling up and going out for a run (especially now that I’ve figured out how to bundle appropriately), unsure of the conditions of the paths, or any winter sights I might stumble upon.

This part of the path was for braver runners than me with more waterproof sneakers

Cross country ski tracks on the Charles River

Bostonians, myself very much included, spend much of their winter trying to get indoors as quickly as possible. With the streets and sidewalks made narrower by towering and filthy snow piles,  endless slush, unreliable MBTA transportation resulting from the wintriness  of it all, and very cold temperatures, it’s easy for us to sink into feelings of general disdain for our wonderful city during the wintertime. But then you go out running and see a sight like this:

and it’s fine that it’s winter, it’s fine that you almost fall on your face every time you walk down the sidewalk, it’s fine that you’re cold all the time, and it’s even fine that the MBTA is running 50 minutes late. Winter runners know that, for some reason or for no reason at all, people spent their time making these, just to make you, and other wintertime patrons of the run/walk/bike path, smile:

sneakers, thank you for putting up with me as I make you trek through mounds of snow all winter. Sorry that you're sopping wet.

By being a runner this winter, I am enjoying the season in a way I never have before. The winter air rejuvenates me with each breath, and there isn’t a stranger-interaction that I enjoy more than the mutual, “ah, i see you’re also sort of badass — way to enjoy this” silent exchange that goes on when winter runners pass one another on a narrow, unplowed part of the path.

The past few weeks in Boston have been tough for runners, what with the seemingly incessant snow sandwiched between days of arctic-type temperatures, but the 10-day forecast includes more sun and above-freezing days than we’ve become accustomed to, so the immediate future looks promising for us.  Which is good. Because we get stir-crazy. I struggle to imagine what would happen to this city in the winter if they didn’t do a fairly solid job of plowing the Charles River Running Path.

3 Comments to “A Winter Run in Boston”

  1. Seriously like the fresh look. I loved the content. Many thanks for your brilliant blog.

  2. I don’t know how winter runners do it. I’m thinking of training for a 1/2 marathon. I was flipping though a training book and saw something about “running in -60 weather” and “put vaseline around your nostrils.” Huh. My thoughts? Good thing my building has a gym.
    🙂
    Lovely pictures!

    • Yikes! -60?! I never ran if it was closer than 20-25 — if you can’t feel your legs, you can’t run on them!

      When it’s not TOO cold, though, winter running is really amazing, refreshing, beautiful, etc, and way more so than running on a treadmill!

      Go for the half!!–it’s a totally fun & totally manageable (but still challenging) distance!

Leave a Reply

