Apple Pumpkin Oatmeal

Oatmeal is delicious.

 

It’s hearty, it’s versatile, it’s inexpensive (I pay $2.19 for a gigantic 32-serving tub), and it’s awesome. Sure, like anything, it can be incredibly boring and bland (water + oats + microwave=not delicious), but when prepared with creative additions, oatmeal can become exciting enough to eat every day.

I eat this oatmeal preparation for breakfast almost every day. Sometimes I also have it for lunch. Sometimes variations of it squeeze their way into snacks—especially the emergency “aaahhh I’m hungry and it’s 11pm!” snacks. Since oatmeal is a seed (just rolled out, hence “rolled oats”), it’s jam packed with enough fuel to grow something. Isn’t that the kind of food you want to put into yourself?

This preparation is also a great way to get some of those fruit and vegetables in right at the start of your day. Did I mention that it’s also delicious?

Apple Pumpkin Oatmeal

-1/2 cup rolled oats (quick cooking are fine, but I don’t find the texture to be as satisfying)

– 1 cup milk (skim, soy, whatever you like. You can make oatmeal with water instead of milk, but the milk makes it creamier and more filling. The extra protein kick isn’t bad, either!)

– 1 macintosh apple, chopped up however you’d like (or any kind of apple, I guess. You can also sub a banana or really any fruit, I think. I wouldn’t suggest citrus…)

– a very overflowing spoonful (probably 1/3 of a cup) of canned pumpkin. (not the pie filling. The straight up pumpkin. if you don’t have/can’t find this, this oatmeal will be delicious without it, too. just less orange.)

– a hit of brown sugar or splenda or something similar, if you like your oats sweet (which I do). You could also use maple syrup.

– some spices – I love Pumpkin Pie spice, but it’s hard to find for a reasonable price year round. Cinnamon works, too. Or really any spice that you like. Probably not cumin, though.

So basically just throw the chopped up apple, oats in the bowl (make sure you’re using a big-ish bowl – this yields kind of a lot of food)…


Add the milk, and then squash your pumpkin down in to it all.

Mix it all together until the pumpkin has all dispersed into the milk, and then stick it in the microwave for, oooh, let’s say 5 minutes? You’ll probably want to watch the oatmeal from 3:30 on, to make sure it doesn’t overflow and create a charming (yet delicious) disaster in your microwave.  When it bubbles up over the top of the bowl (which it will), open the door, mix it around, and then continue to cook it. You want the liquid to all be absorbed into the oats. Unless you like al-dente oatmeal soup, I suppose. For me, it bubbles over the top 2 or 3 times before it’s ready.

Once you’re satisfied with the consistency of your breakfast, sprinkle your spices on there & add however much sweet stuff you would like.

And voila – my absolute favorite breakfast in all the land! Enjoy, and let me know what you think, or if you have a favorite way to prepare oatmeal!

Estimated cost breakdown per serving = $1.06
Oats: $0.06, Milk: $0.25,  Apple: $0.25, Pumpkin: $0.50 (high roller stuff which can easily be left out)

Tags:

7 Responses to “Apple Pumpkin Oatmeal”

  1. Looks delicious! But what do you do with the leftover pumpkin? Does it keep well?

    • Thanks!–tastes delicious, too!
      I keep the pumpkin in the can, cover it with a little tin foil hat, and stick it in the fridge.
      It keeps perfectly well like this, and I assume it would stay fresh for a while, but an opened can of pumpkin has never lasted me longer than a week!

  2. Great recipe – Thanks for giving us a new taste for an old breakfast staple!

  3. Ok, I’ve been making this oatmeal for about a week. I LOVE it.

    It’s super filling, it makes a TON of food. And it’s WAYYY cheaper and better tasting than the instant stuff.

    If you only use milk, it is VERY creamy. I cut it with 1/4 cup water. I have been using water to make oatmeal for years and while I appreciate the creamy-ness (and protein) I’m too used to it with water.

    I’ve used Granny Smith apple and Pacific Rose apples so far. YUM! But I will say – I don’t like the apples cooked completely to mush, I put them in at 3 minutes when I first stir the oatmeal. They have a little more crunch to them if you do that. CAUTION: The apples explode in your mouth when you bite them and they are HOT. But good 🙂

    I flavor mine with brown sugar, cinnamon and fresh ground nutmeg. Pretty much I’m in love with this recipe, and I could eat it every day.

  4. I want to love oatmeal! I’ve tried! I’ve never tried apples and pumpkin in mine though. Maybe I’ll try that.

  5. Sarah, if you add a tablespoon of peanut butter and forego the pumpkin, you will find the peanut butter in the oatmeal will “keep with you” until lunchtime and you won’t have those mid-morning hunger times.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

